We invite you to come and worship with us
- Sunday 1pm
About St. Mary & St. Finnan's church in Glenfinnan, Lochaber
The Church of St Mary and St Finnan was formally dedicated by Archbishop Eyre, Administrator of the Church’s Western District, assisted by two English bishops, on 19 August 1873, in the presence of a gathering that included MacDonald of Glenaladale, whose seat was at Glenfinnan House.
The Church is situated in one of the most picturesque and historically significant areas in the Highlands; standing at the head of Loch Shiel, where Charles Edward Stuart raised his standard before the gathered clans. Our church is a silent witness to a yet more ancient arrival, that of the faith of St Finnan and the Celtic saints which has echoed in each generation since an enduring testament to the living Catholic Faith of her people.
The church is treasured by its parishioners and locals alike. Built to the glory of God it is an eloquent "sermon in stone" for everyone who passes and providing a peaceful place to think and pray for many people from around the globe who pass along the beautiful "Road to the Isles" as well, of course, as the Mass and Sacrament for her parishioners.
The church stands immediately to the south-west of the A830 "Road to the Isles" as it climbs from the Glenfinnan Monument at the head of Loch Shiel towards Glenfinnan Station.
There is a spacious parking area next to the church, and from there it is a very short stroll to the church itself.